Bonus Round – Hair Part III

October 12, 2010 at 9:53 pm 7 comments

Given the past few posts you might think hair is the only thing we think about around here.

And to answer that I’d say:

1. (defensively) Well, yeah, hair is like always around. In the morning its wedged under our backs, pinned in our arm pits. Later it dips into cereal milk, gets gilded by honey, stuck in nose snot. By afternoon its whipped by the wind, causing the tricycle to crash into bike racks. At night it is unleashed from it’s mangled pony tail holder with shrieks of pain and tearing sounds. And. It’s. Always. Tangly.

2. (less defensively) I’m not maintenance-y. It’s true! When I do laundry it is in triumph, like: Dang, I totally did a shit-ton of laundry. Laundry isn’t blended into my lifestyle. I don’t have a regular washing day. In fact even when I wash the dishes at night I am patting myself on the back, like I am giving myself a present (meaning a clean empty sink in the morning). I do not do them as a matter of course, no, each time I am (embarrassingly) proud of myself. When I was little and my mom pointed out some chore I hadn’t yet addressed, like scrubbing the toilet, I was always offended. I’d say: But Mom! I made my bed! And she’d say: Natty, I’m not going to reward you for something you’re SUPPOSED to do ALREADY. That’s how I am with hair maintenance, mine and Echo’s. When I see her heading down the street with Halloween-wig hair, the kind you’d wear if you were pretending to be a member of Poison, I say to myself: But I totally brushed her teeth! And we, like, did a craft project and shit too!

So hair is our struggle. I mean hair is my struggle. Echo is whizzing along in her toddler life without even a glance at her reflection. Maybe I mean hair is what I don’t tend to as often as my girl’s cohesive(adhesive?) locks require and then later feel sociological guilt or defiance about my lack of maintenance. And I also don’t like to force her to do things that she doesn’t like just because I care about strangers’ perceptions of me and my grooming skills and concerns (or lack thereof). Some mother-child duos struggle with sugar. Others parry over adequate clothing for the weather. We have hair.

But I must say the braids worked out. We went at least five days without hair troubles. And then after it had fuzzed into a transparent, blonde, ghostly, afro, I removed them. But lo! Wavy delight!

We rode those waves another three days, well actually we are still riding those waves. They aren’t as darling anymore, more a hung over version, an after-party version of the just-released, pretty as a mermaid stage but they’re still keeping on. I do believe the hair gods are on our side because somehow, inexplicably, the fact that those strands were once in braids makes them less tangly, even as the days go ticking by. I cannot explain it.

Now I just have to formulate a plan, somehow coincide every future hair washing with a visit from our braiding-genius friend, because this mama can’t french braid. Remember that whole maintenance problem? Right. So simply scheduling a braiding session from here until eternity ought to do the trick.

Entry filed under: life lessons, parenting principles. Tags: , , , , .

Reasons to Love ‘Em Hear Ye, Hear Ye

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy Wharton  |  October 13, 2010 at 8:31 am

    WE: Mom, GrandMa B, Sally and Nan have all loved your hair blogs.
    We are sitting here, early morning, on our get-away vacation – enjoying your pics and stories!

    Reply
  • 2. 6512 and growing  |  October 13, 2010 at 11:25 am

    We have hair issues too, namely, we lost our one household hairbrush and no one really cares, but I should because Rose’s hair is a snake’s nest of snarls, soothed only by frequent conditioning, which is never frequent. And my own hair? Under a hat thankyouverymuch.

    PS: a friend french braided Rose’s hair recently and it was gorgeous, until undone, in which case: frizzy.

    Col barely has hair, we just trim his “wings” 2x/year and he’s never felt a comb on his scalp.

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

      Wow, that really is a sign of low priority hair, only one hairbrush and it’s missing at that! You can’t even leave that brush lying around like you have every intention of brushing but just haven’t gotten to it yet.

      My own hair? I pretend it has body.

      Col’s wings? Well I guess it might not be cute on a nineteen-year old, but otherwise I’d wish for it never to change.

      Reply
  • 4. romy  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I’m in! I’ll do it. Braids for eternity.

    Reply
  • 5. jessie stevens hess  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Two things, first…. I have a family member who finds a way of informing me about children’s spray in de-tangler at least once a month… each time as if she had never previously mentioned it.
    It pisses me off to no end!!!

    Secondly, Olive just let me know that the little girl on the computer
    ( Echo ) has a very pretty name. And yes, Olive’s hair was a total end of the day nightmare when she said those heartfelt words!!

    Keep up the helpful work!
    Jess

    Reply
    • 6. nataliechristensen  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:50 pm

      That de-tangler part is hilarious, like you just aren’t educated, ha ha. I like Olive’s name too, in fact it sounds like I’d very much like Olive herself as well.

      Reply
  • 7. gray  |  October 15, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    My 3 year old girl has always hated barrettes, pony tail holders, hair brushes, hair care of any kind. I loved her long curly blonde locks. I loved seeing her in cute pig tails, but felt like it was torture to her & me to do any sort of grooming. So I started slowly over a few weeks trimming her hair to bangs and chin length bob while she’s in the tub. She is so happy to abandon almost all hair grooming activities. So am I, even though pictures of Echo’s hair make me miss my girl’s beautiful hair!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


