Reasons to Love ‘Em

October 11, 2010 at 8:01 am 3 comments

 

1. This.

 

 

2. Booming, repeated, sing-songy, deep-voiced: I AM BUTT MERMAID! I AM A BUTT MERMAID! from the bathtub.

3. Honesty. To the cashier at the grocery store: My mama reads a book while she”s pooping.

4. The perspective of treasure. A feather, an autumn leaf, a rock from the parking lot, the pull tab from the soy milk container.

5. Culinary tastes. You like to eat your boogers too? I do too. They are so sweet and salty. Yum.

6. Love of everything teenager. Pretend that I was twelve but then I turned thirteen, so now I am a TEENAGER. And I was sitting on the couch… but I am a teenager, and then I went to the bathroom by myself, ‘cuz I’m a teenager?… and then I got a new puppy because I am a teenager and you let me…

 

7. This.

 

 

8. Dialog screamed while swinging.

Do you know how babies are made?

Yeah!

Isn’t it GROSS?

YEAH!

9. Suspension of reality. Mom, pretend that I am pregnant but we didn’t know it. But one day the baby popped out and you came over to see it and you were so surprised. Ok?

10. Glitter in the lint trap.

 

11. This.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Open to Something Other Than Suckiness Bonus Round – Hair Part III

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 6512 and growing  |  October 11, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    fantasticness!

    Reply
  • 2. Jessi  |  October 11, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I love the dialogue parts;
    “my mama reads a book while she is pooping”
    and
    “do you know how babies are made?
    -yeah
    isn’t it gross?
    -yeah”

    that’s just awesome because I can totally hear it being said in their voices….love the way that children see the world. ❤

    laughed really hard! it's so beautiful, innocent, funny and perfect. we only stay young for such a short time, young enough to be blatantly honest with perfect strangers, young enough to see the world through such awed points of view in each moment. so wonderful!

    Reply
  • 3. When Sisters Marry | "A Beautiful Place of the World"  |  October 12, 2010 at 8:02 am

    […] ghost of her long dead friend. (You can see three of the hair design options Juliette chose from here.) They had known each other since the age of 3 and had often talked of helping each other during […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


