For Her

September 27, 2010 at 4:00 pm 3 comments

It’s late and I’m up, crushing chunks of powdered sugar into fine dust, grating lemons, cutting butter into chunks. My eyes are a little blurry, my hands coated in flour, I want it to be perfect. The best raspberry lemon cake she has ever tasted.

Because she is perfect.

The best anyone could hope for in a companion, a confidant, a friend. We knew each other, a little, when we practiced yoga together in a clean room painted robin’s egg blue, what seems like centuries ago. Before children, before Feeleez, before anything important ever happened. She left town at that time and it wasn’t until later, much later, when I saw her stroll past me in slow motion at the Farmer’s Market, her baby-belly before her enormous and beautiful, that her value struck me. My heart skipped a beat and she was lost in the crowd. Nathan seeing the look on my face nudged me forward, encouraged me to find her. So I did. Pushing past my personality, pushing past baskets of produce to find her, to tell her I like her. To seal, with a smile and an awkward shrug, a friendship.

It was one of the best things I have done in my life.

Happy Birthday my dear friend. I love you so.

Entry filed under: birthdays.

Happy Birthday Bicycle

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kris laroche  |  September 28, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    it was the best cake i have ever tasted. and i felt loved.
    i love you, natalie.

    Reply
  • 2. shadymama  |  October 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    how brave you are.

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

      thanks shadymama.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


