self seeking

June 17, 2010 at 3:38 pm 4 comments

There has been a lot of activity around these parts, beautiful, fortunate, blissful activity, but activity nonetheless. Evening brings a brief snuggle on the couch with Nathan and then I’m off to bed. I’m asleep before my head hits the pillow. But today I have found a moment of calm. One child plays happily at my feet and I am able to reflect, to remind myself of who I actually am, without the bustle, without the distractions. Who am I?

I thought I’d jot down some facts and trivia to jog my memory, to reconnect to this form.

1. I do not have any tattoos.

2. I remember things photographically but I do not have a photographic memory.

3. When I feel scared or upset my first instinct is to grab the dog and start walking.

4. I’ve worked as a baker, a dog masseuse, a bike messenger, a teacher’s assistant, a dog hiker, a dog-biscuit baker, a waitress, a nanny, an illustrator, a web designer, and a business owner.

5. I do not have a favorite color but if I had to pick I’d choose white.

6. I naturally am a non-drinker, I just never get around to taking sips of the wine someone has so kindly poured for me.

7. Most people think that I hate them when we first meet, or even for a while after we meet.

8. I am afraid of sharks.

9. I don’t like being afraid so I often will move directly toward the thing I fear (except sharks).

10. People-watching is my favorite activity.

11. My favorite body of water is the river even though I grew up in the most beautiful coastal town in the country.

12. I care about how things look more than how they work.

13. I love children and animals and feel really great when surrounded by both.

14. I think there is a novel hiding in me somewhere.

15. I’m shy and bold at the same time.

This list, of course, is also not me. There is a nugget deep down in there that is air and mist, never to be tied down by mundane verbal descriptions, but holding my self in place however briefly, feels good.

Now it’s your turn. Who are you?

Entry filed under: life lessons.

a day in the life can I? can I? can I?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Annie  |  June 17, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    i found out something horrifying. sharks are swimming upstream. i have an incredible (maybe irrational, but maybe rational) fear of sharks and now this! rivers are my favorite too. probably not going to get all the way to the clark fork though. one more reason montana is supreme.

    Reply
    • 2. nataliechristensen  |  June 17, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      oh no! it was incredibly cruel to share that information with me. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. ecoMILF  |  June 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    i’d have to think about that… but loved getting some insight into you and your quirks and beauties. xo m.

    Reply
  • 4. kenya  |  June 18, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Funny. I was reading your blog, putting off writing a bio for a class that starts tomorrow. I guess I really have to do it now. xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


