happy birthday, here’s some poop

June 12, 2010 at 2:59 pm 3 comments

Today was Sascha’s birthday. Kris’ little girl is now two. I was there the magnificent June morning when this incredible being burst on to the scene. She was big, bold, and beautiful. She still is. I admire her greatly.

Because of my affection for her, and deep regard for her beliefs and interests, I just could not settle on a gift. Echo was certain that a rubber ducky was in order and kept getting exasperated with me when I asked her once more what we should give Saschy for her birthday, but I wanted to find something she’d like. Her main love is babies. She closely mimics mothers, studying their baby-bouncing moves every chance she gets. She wears her babies in a sling or an ergo, she nurses them, she helps them pee, she is already an incredible mom. So baby gear seemed the perfect choice but Sascha does not lack baby equipment, or baby dolls, so what to do? What to give?

Poop.

I figured changing diapers is a motherly thing to do, so I borrowed a few newborn diaper wraps and the family set about mixing Fimo dough into the perfect baby poop colors and textures. We put them into the oven to cook and, voila!

I can’t say it was a big hit. I think Sascha was even a little grossed out. Maybe the poop will grow on her. Maybe she prefers to utilize Elimination Communication and will never play with those glorious, perfectly shaped turds.

At the very least, we sure had fun making them.

Entry filed under: birthdays. Tags: , , .

grandparents that disobey 3, 2, 1…..summer!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  June 12, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I don’t know whether to laugh or gag. You do get extra points for creativity, though. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Nicola@Which Name?  |  June 12, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I just linked here from another blog and I got a big smile. I had a consultation session with Nathan back in November that was so incredibly helpful. Nice to see a blog in motion!
    And to land on this post. I am rolling with laughter. Thank you for that!
    Nicola

    Reply
  • 3. kris laroche  |  June 12, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    whether saschy liked it or not…i LOVED it. hit of the party. thank you for your tender care for her. she went to bed singing ‘nanny, nanny, nanny’. and how glad i am you were there at her birth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


