envy

May 31, 2010 at 8:37 am 6 comments

Kris wrote a post today about her beautiful life, of course, but also about “blog envy” and how looking at the amazing scenes from others’ life creates uncomfortable feelings in herself, of inadequacy and scarcity, and it got me thinking. Blog envy is real. I know that I feel it. On my very best day I do not do/create even half of the things I see in the blogs that I visit. I see clean houses, super cute home-made outfits on kids and mamas, crafty home-made decor, incredibly innovative and industrious home-schooling projects, and I can’t help but spin away from the computer and look at my life differently, negatively.

I wonder why I am not making home-made sour cream like Kris, and even though I fairly quickly realize that I am not genuinely interested in food creation, I can’t help but criticize myself for not being interested in food creation. And what am I doing instead? I tend to hope that what I do in exchange for home-made dairy products is worthy, but I’m not so sure. In fact,  I wonder what it is that I do at all, especially if I do not have beautiful photos to prove it.

I don’t shear my own sheep, spin the wool, and knit myself a sweater while un-schooling four kids and running a farm. I don’t make my own laundry detergent. I don’t even sew. So I actually can’t read most blogs without some form of envy.

Kris actually does do a lot of these things, she actually does make her own sour cream and a million other delicious home-made goodies, she actually does knit cute sweaters, and sew adorable clothes for her children, and she still gets blog envy. Maybe we could all help each other out. Maybe we could launch “Messy Corner Mondays”, or “Seriously Not Photo Worthy Saturdays”, in which we post a less than beautiful shot, one that captures a bit of our lives we don’t normally share.

In the spirit of this new idea, I opened my freezer to see what I could see. I did not see a bounty of last years berries, preserved skillfully to enjoy through he winter. I did not see meals for the coming week, craftily prepared ahead of time. I did not see anything useful at all. Instead I saw: a three-year old placenta, tempeh patties that moved in when Nathan did six years ago, a couple of bread loaf butts, and several frozen fairies.

Is this helpful to anyone?


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

obsessive wordless wednesday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christi  |  May 31, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Thank you for keeping it real – yes, this really struck home for me!

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren  |  May 31, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Yes! This struck home for me also. My kids like to freeze/refrigerate random toys too.

    Reply
  • 3. Joanna  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:02 am

    messy corners monday!!!! how about filthy fridays?

    Reply
  • 4. Alyssa  |  June 1, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    I love it! It’s so funny when I look at blogs full of beautiful images and creative prose I am amazed. I barely get through a day without needing a nap and lots of breaks. So, the thought of doing anything other than the usual, at times mundane, family routing, is just beyond me. All I can think is that I have far less energy than others…which is ok. But, I will admit I would love some of that hand crafted goodness in my life…I just need to find some kind person to do it for me. Oh and the placenta – someday we will transfer that to the ground…someday when we have the energy.

    Reply
  • 5. Kate Tanaka  |  June 6, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    The line between admiration and envy is a thin one, and moves depending on our own internal meter of self worth!
    Thanks for keeping it real, it was very helpful!

    Reply
  • 6. kendra  |  June 7, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    hi
    this is such a funny post! thank you for writing about a very real thing that happens for many people out here in blog world. i love what you found in your freezer and I have to say that i am a regular reader of your blog and other crafty blogs and and I love what you both post. when I read yours I learn so much and I feel so much connection to what you are saying…and at times this is just or more meaningful to me then beautiful pictures and crafts.
    thank you for sharing your world with us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


