right now is awesome

May 20, 2010 at 9:17 pm 1 comment

I feel fantastic. I have the perfect blend of family and community right now.

My dad is house sitting down the street for the week and arrived bright and early this morning to collect the girls for oatmeal and hijinks, leaving me with a few morning moments to wander around a bit perplexed by what to do with myself. Finally I realized a solo leisurely dog walk might be perfect. We all returned in time for play group at Romy’s where moms, sisters, kids, grandmas, and grandpas cooed at the baby, ate snacks, and reveled. Then downtown for an art opening where said mamas, papas and grandparents mingled with the larger community of art lovers and neighbors. Then back home for a scrumptious dinner, where the groceries were bought by my parents, prepared by me, and devoured by all.

See what I mean?

I yearn for this so much of the time, a blending of my worlds, where the family that raised me overlaps with the family I am raising. I had it today and I am taking notice, appreciating it to the fullest.

Even if it is only for a week.

Maybe you, dear reader, could check back in with me on wednesday and hold my hand, since I’m sure there will be a whole new set of emotions that are stirred as I watch my dear father walk through the security gates at the airport.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

periwinkle a doozy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. starrynightcoach  |  May 24, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    You’re very lucky to have so much community, that’s hard to come by these days!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


