closer than I thought

March 25, 2010 at 8:32 pm 2 comments

A wise friend of mine has been leaking secrets of the Universe to me for a few years now. The latest trick she shared with me is to live the life you want starting now. To be who you want to be even if you don’t have everything you think you need in order to be that person, like money, time, particular items or living situations. And for the last two days I’ve been trying it out.

Dog walks, tea, exercise, children, friends, good food, and movies.

It turns out I am already living a lot like I thought I would if everything else fell into line. Who knew? I thought I was far from my dream life, but in the morning when I ask myself: “What would I do if I already had a bunch of money?”, my answer is pretty much what I described above. Relax, spend time with people I love, and not stress out. Well, as irony would have it, worrying about money, and believing that the life I lead is suffering because of it, makes it so that I can’t relax, can’t enjoy spending time with people I love, and can’t stop stressing out.

It seems the thoughts I have about what I think I am missing are causing me more trouble than actually missing that thing. By acting as though I already have everything I need, I have been freed. Jeez. What a mind bender.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

crabby baby math

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ivy  |  March 25, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    I need to try that. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:20 am

    My mother always reminds me to “count your blessings”. Seems trite but really it can so help reorient me back to those things in my life that I love and hold dear even if imperfect. But there are some days where, well, I just can’t count or am too stubborn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


