birds chirping

March 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm 3 comments

Let’s hear it for daylight savings! The clock read nine when I lifted my head from the pillow. Sure, if you do the math it was really eight, I know it’s just a mind trick but hey, nine? I’ll take that any way I can get it.

At least that’s what I thought this morning. Tonight I’m not so sure. That same daylight savings I was celebrating earlier is the same I was cursing tonight when Echo got back out of bed, not quite feeling sleepy enough. You see, this evening that same mind trick was tricky in a different way. Seems Echo wasn’t ready for bed when the clock said 7:45, because that was really 6:45. Instead she got up only to harangue me at every turn, and to meltdown incrementally until she was naked and demanding some mysterious toothpaste that she is sure exists even though mom couldn’t find it in the medicine cabinet.

Aaah spring.

On the other hand, even though spring brings a quirky change to our clocks, it also brings sun! And warmth! And the possibility for long walks. Bella has the week off from school and one of the first things Xi filled her in on when she arrived is our serious longing for that little parrot I talked about here. Xi has been saving pennies, dimes, and nickels in order to contribute to the parrot fund, but Bella hadn’t yet met the little guy. So we made our way over to the skanky pet store across town, enjoying every minute of the sun’s rays.

I’ve been asking everyone I know if it is irresponsible to spend money that could/should/would be used for bills, property taxes, or other grown up expenses (there are just so so many), on a bird. I think perhaps I’ve been asking only animal lovers because I keep getting the answer I like, which usually evades the concept of responsibility in exchange for a focus on the benefits of pets in one’s life.

But there is a voice in my head, a member of my mental jury that evaluates every move I make, that so far has been keeping me from slapping some bills on the counter and bringing that bird home. This same irritating crowd speaks to me when I park a little crooked in the parking spot, when I give the girls noodles for lunch and dinner, again, or any other action in which I invite self doubt. Some days their voices are pretty quiet, others a little louder, but I notice they really clamor for my attention any time money is involved.

I just wish I had more than enough money. So much money that spending a few hundred dollars on a bird isn’t even something to blog about.

I also wish that jury would take a hike. I’m pretty sure I could get along fine without them, probably thrive without them. In fact, I think I might get that bird, not only because I am drawn to him, feel love for him, and know I could make his life an incredible one, but also as a way of saying F___ you jury! As of now you are fired. Thanks for trying to help me out, for trying to guide me along the safe and culturally correct path, but I think I’ll go it alone from here.

I’ll let you know how it goes, until then we have plans for ice cream, hikes, a trip to the hot springs in the woods, and a date with the carousel to celebrate our time with Bella and this wondrous season.

Aaah spring.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

the unimaginable no green guy yet

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanna Smetanka  |  March 16, 2010 at 5:01 am

    I have so many bird crushes right now I can’t keep up with them all. maybe that bird is the mastermind behind all this fuss. I think certain birds make me notice them.

    Reply
  • 2. jen  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I think that jury hovers over a lot of us, and we are working on letting it know we will be re-constructing the entire meaning of law from now on. hmm…how’s that for a mind-bending metaphor? Plato would be pleased. Hey, maybe you could teach the parrot to say “f*** off, jury.”

    Reply
  • 3. Miranda  |  March 17, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    How about you leave that bird alone and teach your kids that birds belong in trees, not cages or pet shops. Even if this bird is not endangered or if it was bred for the pet trade so many are not and your purchasing it encourages the suppliers.

    I love your blog otherwise, I just feel sorry for caged birds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


