blogging through mud

February 15, 2010 at 9:51 pm 4 comments

Lately I click on a blog address, wait for it to load, and then find out that I am staring at an old post, one I read the day before, and maybe even the day before that. And, although I myself write a blog (obviously), missing many a day of posting due to any number of mundane reasons, I still can’t help feeling disappointed. Or even dejected. What about me? I’m here to visit you and you’re not even there. It’s almost a feeling of being left out, or like being the nerdy kid at school that watches from the sidelines while the cool kids frolic. Only in cyberspace the only way you know someone is doing something else with their time other than blogging about it, is if there is a stale blog post still headlining their site. You know they are doing something else, you just aren’t privy to it, and may never be. The torture!

Of course things are happening everywhere that I am not aware of, but it sure is fun to live vicariously for a moment. Especially after a completely satisfying, but also completely ordinary day in my own world.

Speaking of which, the weather outside can’t decide if its going to be snowy, rainy, or sunny. Combine that with construction occurring on three sides of the house and guess what you get?

MUD.

Every time I wipe the muck off Henry-dog’s feet my mind flashes to Kris and her kids in sunny Mexico. Henry has four feet, and he goes out to pee several times, so you can imagine how many times I am flying to Mexico in my mind each day. Thankfully Kris is keeping the images coming, not leaving me hanging with muddy feet and no contrasting life to float in for a tiny bit.

Anyway, I’ll do my best to keep them coming too, whatever “them” might be, in case you are like me and droop when you see another stale post.

These are the things that are rattling around in my mind.

1. If current co-parenting trends continue in our modern family, what do I think about un/homeschooling one child (Echo), while the others (the two we share parenting rights to) go to a local school?

2. My sister asked me how often I feel “blah”. Emily, I think I feel “blah” at least a portion of almost all days.

3. I learned recently that (at least slightly) coerced sex is a very common fantasy for everyday women. What does someone’s fantasies say about their mental make-up, self-image, or emotional state? And what are the other common fantasies, sexual or not?

4. What portion of us have no idea what we want. And why? Is it learned helplessness – trying something and failing due to circumstances out of our control and then assuming that we just can’t get what we want so why bother trying? Or is it that we assume we don’t already have what we want, even without defining for ourselves what that might be? Is it because the american culture and educational system trains us to be unthinking, mass producing sheep? Hmmm.

5. Babies. One friend has a newborn, another a beautiful, round, four weeks to go belly.

What are you thinking about? What do you think about what I am thinking about?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

sweet expectations fake doesn’t count

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ivy  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:04 am

    I often feel the way you do about blogs that haven’t updated when I want them too. But then I think about mine and the fact that I’ve been so busy — almost overwhelmed with the things that I have to do, and the company that has been here and the fact that I feel so unsettled that I don’t even know what I would say if I felt I had the time to say anything. So I’m giving myself permission to not write much this week with the hope that it will help me feel more in control.

    And as to #4 — I think it’s because in movies and tv and books and magazines it looks so easy to get the life you want, but for most of us life is mundane. It is jobs not careers, or duties instead of desires. It is going to dance and piano and basketball, not exotic travel. It is trading the idea of the job you really want for the one that works best for your family which might also be the easier job to get. And mostly the idea that I just don’t know what I want to be when I grow up and damn if I’m not already middle aged.

    Reply
    • 2. nataliechristensen  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:18 am

      I agree, some days the blog just isn’t going to make it onto the to-do list, that’s reasonable and just plain practical. But somehow that doesn’t keep me from missing the “news” of new blog posts on other people’s sites!

      Is middle aged grown up?

      xo

      Reply
  • 3. Angela  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    so funny, lately when i do that, see an old post on a blog i like to frequent, i feel relieved. i think it is because i have not made time to blog on our business site, and in a way have been waiting to launch a personal blog so that i can write more freely. so, i guess, it makes me feel that other people get caught up, too, that i am not the only one a little behind. maybe that plays into your #4 comment, knowing what i want out of life, but letting other stuff get in the way.

    hmmm… guess that is what i am thinking about lately, the stuff, figuratively and literally, that consumes us. that, and all the snow that we will never see down here and missing it for the kids. and, lots of reading and thinking on life learning.

    Reply
  • 4. Joanna Smetanka  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    you are right! it’s true! Ok, ok ok, i’m going to write on the homestead blog tonight and most nights if i can! mrhomestead.blogspot.com. you better read it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


