welcome chaos

February 4, 2010 at 9:18 pm 1 comment

This is what it looked like outside today, but inside was a perfectly CRAZY day.

Seven kids. Four mamas. Two papas passing through. Seventeen hundred snacks. Two dogs. Ten stories. Three bouts of playing doctor. Five popped balloons. Seventy five spilled tears. Two dirty diapers.

This sounds like a counting book for toddlers, or a birthday party. It wasn’t. It was play group. I think I am one of the luckiest mamas on the face of the planet. I get to spend every thursday with three other mothers that parent in a manner that makes my heart sing. These aren’t the kind of play groups where the kids battle it out in a back room, Lord of the Flies style, while the parents drink coffee in the kitchen. There is caffeine involved, but it is ingested while moving between children, holding them, settling disputes, empathizing. Sometimes, or oftentimes, it isn’t even my own child that  I am assisting. In short, it is fantastic.

I think this type of community has been on Kris’s life map since I’ve known her, so I think I have her to thank for manifesting it for us.

Aaaahhhhhh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

honing my super powers I feel… disheartened/rapturous/hormonal

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Joanna Smetanka  |  February 5, 2010 at 7:15 am

    that sounds nice. it’s good to have friends. especially during the shut-in months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


