nothing much

January 31, 2010 at 4:38 pm 3 comments

Two weekends ago, while Nathan drove Bella to her other house, Echo and I sought some adventure and climbed a mountain. Today, Nathan is driving again and I don’t know if it is because it’s a snowy wintery day, that we didn’t sleep enough over the weekend, or what, but today we didn’t climb any mountains. Instead we walked around the block.

It’s easy to give myself a hard time, for doing too much (I really should slow down a bit, play more, or plan less for our days. The kids are wiped out and could use some down time.), or, more likely for me, too little (I didn’t get very much done today, and gosh, maybe the kids need to go out in the world more, to gymnastics, or play group, or to the library…).

But kids don’t seem to worry too much about this. I notice that our girls don’t know what time it is, what day it is, or  whether or not they have left the house at all. When they feel driven to learn more about numbers, they find them everywhere they look, on the back of the cereal box, on the stove clock, on the telephone. If they are enamored by fairy magic, they encounter evidence of its existence at every turn, in the dust motes that fluff off the couch, and in the condensation collected on the window. They enjoy what their life brings them.

So I think I’ll take a cue from them, not only in how I raise them, but how I live as well. If I need to learn about struggle, I’m sure struggle will find me. If I need to learn about communication, I’m sure my relationships will bring that to me. If I need to use my muscles, I’m sure there will be boxes to move, or kids that need picking up. All I require is right here before me if I choose to see it, so I’m going to stop over thinking it, or even thinking about it at all.

Right now I need a blank mind and less motion, so instead of fretting over whether or not Echo’s brain will get enough stimulation, I am going to embrace the opportunity to sit together on the couch. We’ve got an episode of Planet Earth selected, two cups of tea propped on a stool before us, and I’m gathering some blankies.

No mountain climbing today, and that’s okay.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

good golly toys for children in Haiti

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  January 31, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    wow. i am always feeling like i am not doing enough and at the same time, doing way too much. i want to plan less, have more downtime, but the to do list is endless. i need a blank mind and less motion, too. maybe planet earth will be in our plan for tomorrow, because right now my boys are still up (it’s 11pm) and writing and reading and using this time to wind down after a way too busy weekend. instead of crashing, mine get overtired and awake. hmmm, kinda like mama.

    Reply
  • 2. kenya  |  February 2, 2010 at 3:02 am

    off topic, but…. i remember spray painting that little scooty bike for bella’s first birthday.
    miss you guys.

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:13 am

      well we remember that too. thats why, even though all of it’s wheels have gaping holes and no one can ride it, it still lives with us in an honored place in the garden. xo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


