like snowflakes

December 19, 2009 at 10:27 am 3 comments

My theory has been: keep moving. I figure if I’m doing something then I must be chipping away at the gajillions of things neccessary in the next week. Phew!

But as I speed around like a crazy lady, maybe because there really is too much to think about, my mind has been kind of blanking out, relaxing in the corner. It’s been nice. Into that blank space little noticings sift down like snowflakes.

Here are some of them:

I notice I have so much love inside.

For you reading this.

For these girls.

For Nathan and my family.

For the earth that holds me up as I walk my dog along the river, and for sunshine in the winter.

I notice our cat loves to sleep on bubble wrap.

I notice that our girls don’t care that  presents from a thrift store don’t have flashy plastic packaging or  any kind of advertising cool factor.

And shouting “close your eyes!” while I wrap a present right in front of her is the very best way I have found to torture Xi.

And moving boxes make excellent canvasses.

I notice I can live with a certain level of dishevelment around the house, especially because I know it means we are getting closer to our new and improved home(!).

And my friends are incredible.

And even if you have an artshow in two weeks, move in two weeks and fly to California for Yule in one week, life still goes on. Kids still need books to be read to them. Eating is still necessary. The hamster still pees.

And I have shame around money. Shame when I have some and shame when I don’t. (More on this later).

And I love Yuletide and can live on way less sleep than necessary if making presents is involved.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

fevered pitch oasis

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela Malson  |  December 19, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    you rock! i love that you are doing all of those things and still take time to stop and notice what is most important, and still take time to stop and write it all down here at this blog. living with the frenzy is something i am getting better at, because i honestly feel what’s important from inside. it has helped keep me on track. thank you for your inspiration!

    Reply
  • 2. Theresa  |  December 20, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Hello Nathan!! Hubba hubba! 🙂 I wish for you a peaceful move/artshow/trip to Cali.

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  December 20, 2009 at 8:41 pm

      Thanks Theresa 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


