must… stop… thinking…

December 8, 2009 at 5:00 am 3 comments

I am feeling Yule-time crazy. I can not stop thinking about particular little things that I’d like to make, or are making, and it’s making it difficult to function during the “not making” part of my life. This single-mindedness does not serve me when Echo wants to nurse or snuggle, or it’s time to eat or make dinner. I am a lousy conversationalist or snuggler when all I can think about is what I need at the fabric store, and she can feel it. She knows I do not have her in my focus and it doesn’t work for her. And I am a lousy cook too when my mind is still on the floor of living room with the half-made gift. Burning spices, mixing oil and water to great sizzling effect, it was a mess.

Yule-tide is not the only thing that has my head spinning, we are also moving out of our house to make way for much anticipated construction to make our teeny tiny house a bit bigger. I have been working on this manifestation for so long and now it is imminent. This is beyond exciting, but also completely nerve wracking! Yule-tide and moving share the same deadline. Eeek! I now look around our home and find myself strategizing what will go into a box for storage, and what we will bring to our temporary digs. This is more than a little distracting.

What this all means, is that the number of things to do after kids go to bed has greatly multiplied. And this also means that it wasn’t until 1 a.m that I sat down to write the last post. So when I woke up this morning and read what I had written, I was cringing. I hadn’t meant to come off so harshly. I had had that list of things on my mind throughout the day, but apparently waiting until the wee hours of the morning to relate them resulted in a curt barking of information.

I apologize, dear friends. Fatigue is no excuse for not holding you gently.

p.s. This is not a photo of our Yule tree. Don’t even get me started on that one, do we put up the tree and decorations, even if it’s only for a very short time? Do we pack everything else up but leave the tree until the last minute? Do we pack up some of the living room furniture now so that we have room for a tree? Where are those decorations? Are they still in the basement?  Are they buried?  ?????????????

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

even this life with kids – rule #1: make no plans

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ivy  |  December 8, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Wishing you peace, love, patience and a strong back.

    Reply
  • 2. Annie  |  December 8, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I LOVED your last post! I sent it to my partner and printed it to post up in my closet as a discreet reminder to do those things. While the tone did feel different than your other posts, it was a welcome ‘how to’ that I am cherishing.

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  December 8, 2009 at 11:30 am

      Oh I’m so glad. It’s hard to tell sometimes, after all I’m just in my living room late at night. I cant see your faces to know how I’m doing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


