swirls

November 25, 2009 at 5:00 am 1 comment

Bella arrived for Thanksgiving week. WOW. What a radiant burst of spinning shininess. That girl has star power. She is ENERGY in all forms. Big, moving, loving, swirling, action, thoughts, and emotions. Our world becomes “Bellafied” immediately, more movement, more ideas, more complex conversations, more.

And in the midst of that Bella swirl, we prepared for the arrival of Nathan’s dad and partner, cleaning (of course), moving car seats, planning what we think Thanksgiving might look like (if your dad is cooking the turkey, does that mean he arrives at our house at four in the morning to stuff it and crank up the oven???).

I am sitting down now to write this post and asking myself: what AM I feeling? It’s hard for me to tell what I ‘m feeling when my surroundings have tilted. I look back on the day and don’t have any mundane ordinariness with which to get my bearings.

Bella is here on a weekday.

Nathan’s work is shifted around and he’s home on a Tuesday too.

We woke up this morning and instead of our usual tea and kid mayhem, we immediately vacuumed, and then hurried out of the house before we could untidy it all over again (you know how that goes).

And with the arrival of out of towners we ended up eating dinner at 4pm, went for ice cream, had tea at home, and started settling in for the night before I realized it was only 6pm.

Later there was a nighttime foray to the grocery store and now a 15 pound, semi-thawed turkey lurks in our mud room.

What day is this? What time is it?

And what am I feeling?

Perhaps I can let go of my bearings, toss them to the side and get lost in Bella’s swirls and the fortune a visit from family brings. Maybe if I stop using the clock, or days of the week, or schedules, to figure out what kind of day I’m having, I’ll just be able to feel what kind of day I am having.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

alone? a curtsy to you

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ivy  |  November 25, 2009 at 7:44 am

    For me there is the swirl of anticipation, the stress of planning and doing and finishing projects in time, and the satisfaction that brings to. There is a contentment, and happiness mixed into the rush of getting things done. After describing all of that I think I might be a stress junkie. Yikes. A very happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


