not just dinner

November 17, 2009 at 5:00 am 3 comments

 

Our kids aren’t the only ones learning things around here lately. It turns out…I LIKE MAKING THINGS!  Not just dinner.

This really should not surprise me. I have a degree in art and have been a long time creator of many things, yet I am surprised. I am blissed out after making something, anything.

Today Echo and I watched a vintage episode of Mr. Rogers. What a sweet man, loving all those television children for so many years. The show we watched was about puppets, and at one point Mr. Rogers goes into his “kitchen” and digs around for a plastic spoon. He drew a simple smiley face, taped on a wrinkly sprig of ribbon to the head, tied another bit of ribbon to the neck, and viola!

And I thought to myself from the yoga mat (I try to sneak in a couple down dogs any time there is a video on): we have plastic spoons! I realize I have been crippling myself, thinking that so many things need to change before I can be a happy, creative person. Crazy thoughts like: If I had a studio then I could do some painting.Or, if I had the money to go wild at the art store then the kids and I could make some crafts. Meanwhile life goes slipping by without the joy of painting or crafting. So darn silly.

We dug out those plastic spoons from deep within the silverware drawer and got to work. And oh how I love these little puppets! Echo named them Carwash (mom), Rosie (kid), and Cook (papa). My whole day was sunnier because of these awkward plastic beings. Snowmen, Hamster Heaven, it doesn’t matter, if I make something, I feel better.


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

the name game continues it doesn’t have to be difficult

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alyssa  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Yay! I love these stories of creativity found through parenting on a budget. One thing I really admire about my Mom is that she was incredibly resourceful while living on a budget – when we wanted doll houses she made the most kick ass doll house out of a cardboard box…it had wall paper, carpeting, furniture and it was all housed within a cardboard box! We loved it. And we knew it wasn’t the fancy doll house that we had asked for, but we still loved it.

    Reply
  • 2. Ivy  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Creating really does always help. Now if I could just get my self censor out of my way — I look at your puppets and think mine would never look so good or put together. But would my daughter care? Nope.

    Reply
  • 3. kris  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    oh man. they are adorable. thanks for the inspiration!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


