swallow one unbirthday celebration and call me in the morning

November 15, 2009 at 5:00 am 2 comments

IMG_1147

Oh those greys. Grey skies, grey thoughts, grey mood. The dismal view calls to me, like something that feels good in a not so good way. My mind is turned, lured over. My brow furrows. My patience runs and hides under the bed.

I say no to everything. Mama, can I paint? No.

And kids never say: oh I can see you’re having a hard time. I’ll just go into my room and play quietly by myself for awhile. I’ll give you some space. Instead they say: Well if we can’t paint can we at least do papier mache?

That’s how my day was going and I was all set to resist everything and flow with nothing when Echo said: Mom can today be my birthday? and I felt a collective DING! ring throughout the house. UNBIRTHDAYS FOR EVERYONE! That sweet little request and a candle stuck into a corn muffin, effectively shifted my stubborn, masochistic mind, around. Thank god.

cornmuffin

We sang to ourselves, we made wishes, and we didn’t stop there.

party dress

We found a party dress…

carousel

We took a wild unbirthday ride around the carousel…

icecream

We ate unbirthday sugar…

We hosted an unbirthday dance party… (sorry photos not available as all unbirthday folks were busy cutting a rug)…

And then, as the final proof that the greys had officially left the building, I willingly tore the entire living room apart, even moving furniture, to come up with the best game EVER: Hamster Heaven.

hamsterheaven

Tunnels, hidden treats, obstacles, blankies crammed into every crack and crevice to prevent escape. I don’t know who was happier the hamster or the girls.

hamsterheaven2

I even promised to leave it all assembled until the next day. So, because the couch is a crucial part of the structure, Nathan and I, after the girls were asleep, ended up watching our movie within Hamster Heaven.

A very happy unbirthday was had by all. The cure for a grey day? You never can tell.

IMG_1148

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

empathy delivery the name game continues

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Romy  |  November 15, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Go Natalie! What a great day it looks like it turned out to be. p.s. Salome still loves the “Echo and the Boat Cover” entry so that’s where we are headed next.

    Reply
  • 2. Ivy  |  November 16, 2009 at 8:54 am

    You rock! What a great day. You lived it with abandon once you got out of your own way. I love Hamster Heaven (even if we don’t have a hamster and fish really wouldn’t enjoy that). Congrats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


