who’s your grandpa?

November 4, 2009 at 5:00 am 2 comments

holding hands

This is what we all want right? A strong pillar of immense unconditional love, adoringly accompanying us through our journeys, and smiling benevolently all the while.

Moms and dads make sure the teeth are brushed and say no to watching another movie. Grandparents play, snuggle, paint toe nails, read stories, and watch new jumping skills. Okay, parents do all this too, but grandparents have full licence to do only these things. And hear hear to that.

But maybe we school-marmy parents could take a lesson from the grandparent playbook, and do a little less of the herding, chiding, and reminding, and a little more of the just plain adoring. Sure, the laundry will pile up, and yes, the teeth will develop a yellow fuzz, but these tasks do not have to be all consuming.

Today I watched my dad watch Echo jump, what seemed like a hundred times, and each time he was really watching.

I was grandparented well and I know what that feels like. I want that for my children. I want to be that for my children. But I also want to be that for my partner, for my sister, for my mother and father. I want to be that, for instance, for the crabby waitress at the airport lounge that wanted to go home so badly.

And why not? The more I think about it the more I question why I would ever want to be any different. If I were able to choose a part to play, I would not consciously choose the negative controlling one. I would not aspire to be the woman that holds her man back, or the friend that gently undermines relationships with cheery but cleverly cutting remarks.

So instead I will consciously choose the grandparent role. I’m going to grandparent every human being I can. I’m going to chuckle indulgently and let my eyes crinkle with delight. I’m going to murmur gently and talk in the third person, here, baby, let Gramma make it better for you.

Okay, I might do this silently and invisibly, maybe never even actually interact, but I know that my intentions will be felt regardless. It feels good to be loved.

dadandecho

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

our kind of guy contentment is …

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ivy  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Now that sounds like a wonderful guiding principle. Can I stand beside you at the check out line?

    Reply
    • 2. nataliechristensen  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:01 am

      Sure thing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


