empathy delivery

October 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm 3 comments

girls' pumpkins

Why does the journey from 6 p.m. until now, when the kids are asleep, sometimes feel like an eternity? I was making dinner (note to self: do not start cooking brown rice when it’s already after six. No matter how good the sushi rolls are, I’ve lost my culinary audience to sleepiness, by 7:30.). Echo was “helping” me cook, which meant telling me, repeatedly and in great detail, why she needed the knife, and Xi was orbiting my body with a giant, helium butterfly balloon that kept smothering my face with it’s buoyancy. (Why is it that no matter what size the house is, the children prefer to play within six inches of my body? ) And while I batted the balloon away from my nostrils for the tenth time, and hid the knife behind the teapot, I thought to myself, this is what empathy delivery is for! We all need to have moments like these recognized. So here goes. I hereby declare empathy for any and all:

  • that struggle between the hours of 6 until bedtime.
  • that return to the bed 3 times to re-help their little one fall asleep, just to repeat the process a half hour later with their older one.
  • that are spending their first days and weeks with their newborn and worry about each little detail; wether or not their baby is  nursing enough, what that particular sound means, wether or not they are doing it right, etc.
  • that are recovering from surgery.
  • that miss their sister.
  • that finally get to move back to their hometown and realize they are a little afraid.
  • that want more romance and sex in their relationship, or want to want more sex in their relationship.
  • that are in love with someone that is not available, or is not their partner/husband/wife.
  • that have moved away from their town and feel lonely.
  • that think they want kids but are not yet in the right place for it.
  • that feel regret for how they recently treated someone.

Here’s to you, to you all.

Entry filed under: empathy. Tags: .

i feel… happy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ivy  |  October 31, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Can I give you empathy for what you went through last night? Your patience must have been stretched. I understand what you went through and I applaud your attempts to make dinner in chaos.

    Reply
  • 2. gen  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I love these deliveries! Thanks! You always seem to have at least one item that speaks to me personally and all the others I go “oh yes send them empathy”. I finish the post feeling grateful for what I have. Thank you!

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:02 am

      I’m so glad! If you have anyone/thing in mind for this week’s delivery let me know and I will put it on the list. Then you can send the post to a friend as a little empathy gift.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


