life learning empathy

October 7, 2009 at 6:06 am 4 comments

No need to drone on about feelings and empathy. Life provides all the necessary learning opportunities.

IMG_0924

Vanilla the hamster is so HAPPY snuggled up in your lap. She feels so SAFE. She needs a lot of sleep during the day and you are helping her get that.

IMG_0928

Wow this beetle is really struggling. He must feel so SCARED and WORRIED. Beetles need to be on their feet to be able to walk.

IMG_0929

Oh he seems so much HAPPIER now that we’ve helped him.

IMG_0932Henry dog sure needed some exercise, he was so EXCITED to come on the walk. He sure looks CONTENT after that swim in the river. I am so GLAD we were able to give that to him.

Entry filed under: empathy. Tags: , , , .

nursing Echo for fun

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heidibuecking  |  October 7, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    i really enjoy your blog these days…it is so helpful! i feel thankful 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Krista  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Oh, I felt a pang of sadness when I heard you refer to your last post as “droning on”. I really appreciated your honest expression and felt incredibly moved and inspired by your words. It brought up a lot of stuff for me, as I also have a 28 month daughter and am experiencing a very similar dynamic with feelings and needs (both of ours) around the nursing. I would love to hear feedback on this comment if you’re willing, particularly if you could perhaps offer some reassurance that you are not minimizing the value of your writings here. What you share here so contributes to my growth, my learning and my need for nonviolent community, so to me, no matter how much one talks about feelings, needs, empathy, etc., it could never sound like droning!

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  October 8, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Hi Krista,
      I certainly didn’t mean to minimize the value of my writings here. I am SOOOO enjoying spending time in the blog space and sharing my feelings with you and others. It really is filling a need for me and I feel so much less alone than before I began. The word “drone” was really too strong, I actually only meant that there is no need to put learning about feelings into a formal teaching format because life is so full of natural learning opportunities. And now that I think about it I think I might have been reeling a bit from the nursing post and was almost distancing myself, looking for an easy post that didn’t involve my personal feelings as much. The nursing post makes me feel sad even when I read it now, not because Echo wants to nurse a lot, or because I’m not giving her enough connection time with me(that couldn’t be further from the truth) but because I didn’t hold her feelings as gently as I could. I am glad I wrote it because it brought me back to the tender place I prefer to reside in but I didn’t realize at the time that I would be as affected by the post as I was.

      Reply
  • 4. Krista  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Oh, and I didn’t mean to dismiss the value of this “living empathy” post, it was fun to hear your attempt at empathic connection even with these little (and big) critters. Life really is chock full of opportunities to learn and understand each other more deeply.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


