i feel… love

September 28, 2009 at 4:05 pm 1 comment

IMG_08622

We took those plane rides to get to this guy.

It was his birthday on Saturday and a huge team of helpful loving people worked together to surprise him on his 65th birthday. My loving partners Kris and Nathan are holding down the Feeleez fort while I am away, my mom secretly picked us up at the airport and showered us with grandmotherly love (including paintings sessions in her beautiful studio), my stepdad made meals for us, and my stepmom bought the airfare and concocted this grand plan to give my Dad the BEST GIFT he could imagine. And surprised he was! We walked in to the party like regular guests and SHOCKED him. He was in a hazy daze of love and gratitude for several hours.

Echo leaped into Grandpa’s arms and stayed there the duration of the party. Watching these girls flourish under the safe wings of their extended family makes me think: even if you make every parenting “mistake” in the book, if you can surround your children with people that adore them and love them unconditionally you are doing them a great service.

IMG_0852

Entry filed under: birthdays. Tags: , , .

do over…(airplane style) or, “they were so good!” i feel… tired

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Annie  |  September 28, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I just found your blog and am absolute love with it! You speak my language, your hopes are my hopes. I’ve had those same thoughts… what does a ‘good’ child mean?… but haven’t had the space or talents to write about it. Thank you. I will be reading every day…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers


