conversations…

September 23, 2009 at 3:10 am 9 comments

p_big_river-gravel

Here is a conversation between Echo (2) and Elliott (4) while walking to the bathroom at a campground.

Elliott: I’ll show you where to go because I know where to go because I’ve done this before so I know where to go I’ll show you.

Echo: Because you were here yesterday? Were you here yesterday? You did this yesterday?

Elliott: yeah.

Elliott: My dad left for work yesterday. I feel real sad about that but I still talk. Do you cry a whole lot when your dad goes to work?

Echo: Well I miss my Papi.

Elliott: Yeah well guess what?! My dad comes home tomorrow and you are welcome to come over anytime! I feel HAPPY about that.

SpotlessWeb 051

Then later after a long day Echo didn’t want to get in the car seat. I waited, miserably breathing deeply, while she climbed around the van pretending to drive.

Me: Echo I really want to go. I’m not having a good time and I want to go home.

Echo: Well I’m driving us there! Get in your seat!

Me: I don’t really want to play this game.

Echo: Well I’m driving. FUCKING!! SHIT!

Me: (silence)

Echo: Are you sad?

Me: A little.

Echo: (sweetly) Oh I’m sorry sweet baby you can drive.

Me: I can? Will you get in the car seat then so I can drive?

Echo: NO! I’m not ready. I’M DRIVING! Mom I need the keys.

Me: Honey I don’t want you to have the keys because they start the car and that isn’t safe.

Echo: I NEED the keys! FUCKING!

15 minutes later…

Echo: I’m sorry you’re upset. I’m so sorry.

Me: Why are you sorry?

Echo: I’m sorry for …(jibber jabber nonsense).

Me: (sigh)

15 minutes later…

Echo: I’ll put my baby in her seat and get ALL organized and then we can go.

Echo: O.K. I’m ready.

Entry filed under: empathy, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

no where to hide so your kid is looking at you like this…

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. klaroche  |  September 23, 2009 at 4:15 am

    oh my god this is hilarious.
    thank you for the giggle!

    Reply
  • 2. Wild Roaming One  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    I have to ask, the swearing, what to do about that, because that would piss me off more than her pissing around!

    WRO

    Reply
    • 3. nataliechristensen  |  September 25, 2009 at 5:44 pm

      Hi WRO,
      We’re posting a response to swearing, and the other hot spots that sprung up in this post, on our sister site the Natural Parenting Center. So I will send it your way! Thanks for your interest!
      Natalie-Feeleez

      Reply
    • 4. nataliechristensen  |  September 26, 2009 at 4:21 am

      Here ya go WRO! http://naturalparentingcenter.typepad.com/

      Reply
  • 5. Romy  |  September 25, 2009 at 2:41 am

    That made me laugh OUT LOUD. Love that Echo.

    Reply
  • 6. Penny  |  September 25, 2009 at 5:34 am

    I apologize in advance if I am a bit of a devil’s advocate here. I come from a totally different way of upbringing, but I am interested to learn more about this topic.

    Here’s what I read in the story…

    You waited a little more than half an hour for Echo to “let” you drive. She was in control of the situation, said some pretty nasty words and finally decided when she was ready to go.

    I totally appreciate how patient you are, but what about the mother who doesn’t have time to spend half an hour waiting for her child.
    What about the fact that Echo is not being scolded for saying bad words?
    Isn’t Echo learning that she is the boss and that she gets things her way?

    I’m interested in your perspective on the situation and how this benefits Echo in the long run.

    Reply
    • 7. nataliechristensen  |  September 25, 2009 at 5:41 pm

      Thank you for your interests and inquiries Penny. We really appreciate it. We are using the Feeleez blog to focus primarily on feelings – where they pop up in our lives, how our kid’s are learning them and processing them, and our Natural Parenting Center blog is focusing on how these issues affect or drive our parenting choices. So a response to your direct questions will pop up tonight on the NPC site and I will send or post a link.
      Again, thanks so much. The devil’s advocate position is more than welcome.
      Natalie

      Reply
    • 8. nataliechristensen  |  September 26, 2009 at 4:20 am

      Here is the link to the NPC response Penny! http://naturalparentingcenter.typepad.com/

      Reply
  • 9. nataliechristensen  |  September 26, 2009 at 4:18 am

    Thanks for your comments everyone. Here is the NPC post in response to the comments: http://naturalparentingcenter.typepad.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


